Quicksand’s Common ‘Slip’ To Be Reissued On Vinyl

Influential label Iodine Recordings, which released again in 1996 by distributing punk and hardcore data from a cramped apartment in Boston throughout the golden age of mail-get and print catalogs, rebooted in 2022 with reissues and new albums alike. Today the label has introduced the reissue of quintessential and definitive submit-hardcore release, Quicksand’s Slip.

The reissue will occur in 3 configurations: Common Edition, Deluxe Gatefold, and Deluxe LP + Hardcover Reserve-a “must own” for diehard supporters and collectors. The e-book includes prepared contributions from associates of Anthrax, Helmet, Sepultura, Thursday, Rise Against, Refused, Youth of Right now, Thrice, Agnostic Front, Snapcase, Earth Disaster, Cave In, and several a lot more.

Handful of albums entirely create and encapsulate a genre like Quicksand’s debut album Slip does for put up-hardcore. Initially recorded in 1992 and unveiled in early February 1993, Slip is as pertinent and vital an album currently as it was just about 30 several years in the past. Slip is a musical bridge in between the 1980s New York Hardcore scene from which Quicksand’s associates minimize their enamel on, and the burgeoning sound of the ’90s weighty rock. It’s an album that stands toe-to-toe with other excellent data introduced that yr, but the band’s NYHC roots give the history an edge you will not listen to on an In Utero or Siamese Dream.

Lead observe “Fazer” throws listeners straight into a brick wall of hefty guitars. Quicksand’s gritty genius is quickly obvious in the track: a group self-confident in their potential to combine heaviness, melody, and significant-chorus sensibilities in a way none of their friends could aspiration of. Frontman Walter Schreifels and firm merge their large pool of influences (citing absolutely everyone from Negative Brains to Danzig) into a seem which is undeniably Quicksand. Nowhere is this a lot more clear than the album’s guide one “Dine By yourself.” It’s a deceptively catchy track that exposed many MTV watchers to crushing riffs, Schreifel’s gritty-however-beautiful yowling, and a still famous odyssey of a bridge.

The album is proof constructive that a band can publish some of the heaviest riffs ever, although nonetheless pausing for moments to house out on music like “Lie and Hold out.” The file concludes with a summation of all its achievements in “Transparent,” providing up guitar riffs that control to sound hefty and hopeful at the exact time. “Transparent” reinterprets Revolution-Summer time forward-considering constructive way of thinking in a new context of rock tunes. It’s as while the band is mindful of the righteous wave of fantastic tunes they’re ushering in with this album.

Slip gave all people which includes Deftones, Glassjaw, Title Struggle, and hundreds additional the blueprint of what put up-hardcore can execute. Quicksand firmly cemented Slip as an necessary album in rock music and a testament to how considerably punk rock can go.

Slip tracklist:

1. Fazer
2. Head to Wall
3. Dine By itself
4. Slip
5. Freezing Approach
6. Lie and Wait around
7. Unfulfilled
8. Can Opener
9. Omission
10. Baphomet
11. Also Official
12. Transparent
13. How Shortly is Now?

Slip was recorded by Quicksand members Walter Schreifels (Gorilla Biscuits, Youth of Now), Tom Capone (Over and above, Bold), Sergio Vega (Deftones, Moondog), and Alan Cage (Further than, Seaweed) and co-created by Steven Haigler (Pixies) and Don Fury (Unwell of it All, Agnostic Entrance). Remastered by Jack Shirley at The Atomic Yard (Deafheaven, Joyce Manor).

Follow Quicksand below, and preorder Slip on vinyl below.