2023 IBMA Bluegrass Music Awards nominees declared

The eyes and ears of the bluegrass sector ended up concentrated this early morning on the Nashville headquarters of SiriusXM’s country and bluegrass operation for the announcement of the 2023 nominees for the IBMA Bluegrass Tunes Awards.

These prestigious awards are decided by a vote of the specialist membership of the Worldwide Bluegrass Songs Affiliation, selecting the finest of the best from between their peers. Trophies are awarded in 17 groups, choosing the best pickers and singers, songs and albums, of any specified calendar year.

Also announced this morning ended up the 2023 inductees into the Bluegrass Tunes Corridor of Fame, and the five particular person or teams receiving IBMA’s Distinguished Accomplishment Award. These are given to persons and companies who have manufactured incredible contributions to bluegrass audio.

Tunes was delivered by the Sam Bush and the Lonesome River Band.

IBMA will announce the nominees for their Momentum and Business awards in the coming weeks.

2023 Corridor Of Fame Inductees

  • Sam Bush
  • Wilma Lee Cooper
  • David Grisman

2023 Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients

  • The Bluegrass Situation
  • Terry Baucom
  • Tom Ewing
  • Carl Goldstein
  • Pink Wine

2023 IBMA Bluegrass New music Award Nominees

Entertainer Of The Calendar year

  • Appalachian Road Show
  • Billy Strings
  • Del McCoury Band
  • Molly Tuttle & Golden Highway
  • The Po’ Ramblin’ Boys

Vocal Team Of The Calendar year

  • Genuine Unlimited
  • Balsam Selection
  • Blue Freeway
  • Del McCoury Band
  • Sister Sadie

Instrumental Group Of The Calendar year

  • Billy Strings
  • Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper
  • The Infamous Stringdusters
  • Molly Tuttle & Golden Freeway
  • The Travelin’ McCourys

New Artist Of The Yr

  • Reliable Unlimited
  • East Nash Grass
  • Henhouse Prowlers
  • The Tennessee Bluegrass Band
  • Tray Wellington

Music Of The Yr

  • Blue Ridge Mountain Child – Appalachian Road Display (artist) Barry Abernathy/Jim VanCleve (writers) Billy Blue Data (label) Appalachian Highway Display (producers)
  • Crooked Tree – Molly Tuttle & Golden Highway (artist) Molly Tuttle/Melody Walker (writers) Nonesuch Documents (label), Jerry Douglas and Molly Tuttle (producers)
  • Diane – Sister Sadie (artist) Jeffrey Nath Bhasker/Samuel Tyler Johnson/Cameron Marvel Ochs (writers) Mountain Household Songs Business (label) Sister Sadie (producer)
  • Heyday – Lonesome River Band (artist) Barry Huchens/Will Huchens (writers) Mountain Household New music Company (label) Lonesome River Band (producers) 
  • Electricity of Enjoy – Rick Faris (artist) Johnny Colla/Huey Lewis/Christopher Hayes (writers) Dark Shadow Recording (label) Stephen Mougin (producer)

Album Of The Calendar year

  • Crooked Tree – Molly Tuttle & Golden Freeway (artist) Jerry Douglas and Molly Tuttle (producers) Nonesuch Information (label)
  • Lovin’ of the Video game – Michael Cleveland (artist) Jeff White, Michael Cleveland, and Sean Sullivan (producers) Compass Records (label)
  • Lowdown Hoedown – Jason Carter (artist) Jason Carter and Brent Truitt (producers) Fiddle Guy Documents (label)
  • Me/And/Father –  Billy Strings and Terry Barber (artist) Billy Strings and Gary Paczosa (producers) Rounder Records (label)
  • Radio John: The Tunes of John Hartford – Sam Bush (artist) Sam Bush (producer) Smithsonian Folkways (label)

Gospel Recording Of The Year

  • The Glory Road – Joe Mullins & The Radio Ramblers (artist) JPaul Martin/Harry Stinson/Marty Stuart (writers) Joe Mullins and Adam McIntosh (producers) Billy Blue Documents (label)
  • Jordan –Darin & Brooke Aldridge with Ricky Skaggs, Mo Pitney and Mark Fain (artists) Fred Rich (writer) Darin Aldridge/Mark Fain (producer) Billy Blue Information (label)
  • The Scarlet Pink Strains – Larry Sparks (artist) Daniel Crabtree (author) Larry Sparks (producer) Rebel Data (label)
  • Get a Minor Time for Jesus – Junior Sisk (artist) David Marshall (writer) Junior Sisk and Aaron Ramsey (creates) Mountain Fever Data (label)
  • Inform Me the Tale of Jesus – Becky Buller with Vince Gill and Ricky Skaggs (artists) Fanny Crosby, arrangement by Becky Buller (writers) Stephen Mougin (producer) Darkish Shadow Recording (label)

Instrumental Recording Of The Year

  • Get in touch with – Michael Cleveland with Cody Kilby, Barry Bales, and Béla Fleck (artists) Michael Cleveland (writer) Jeff White, Michael Cleveland, and Sean Sullivan (producer) Compass Information (label)
  • Foggy Morning Breaking – Alison Brown with Steve Martin (artists) Alison Brown/Steve Martin (author) Alison Brown and Garry West (producers) Compass Records (label)
  • Gold Hurry – Scott Vestal’s Bluegrass 2022 (artist) Bill Monroe (writer) Scott Vestal (producer) Pinecastle Information (label)
  • Kissimmee Child – Jason Carter (artist) Vassar Clements (author) Jason Carter and Brent Truitt (producers) Fiddle Person Data (label)
  • Scorchin’ the Gravy – Frank Solivan & Soiled Kitchen (artists) Frank Solivan (author) Frank Solivan (producer) Compass Records (label)

Collaborative Recording Of The Calendar year

  • Alberta Sure – Exclusive Consensus with Ray Legere, John Reischman, Tisha Gagnon, Claire Lynch, Pharis & Jason Romero (artists) Gordon Lightfoot (author) Alison Brown (producer) Compass Records (label)
  • Massive Mon  – Andy Leftwich with Sierra Hull (artists) Monthly bill Monroe (author) Andy Leftwich (producer) Mountain House Songs Company (label)
  • Foggy Early morning BreakingAlison Brown with Steve Martin (artists) Alison Brown/Steve Martin (author) Alison Brown and Garry West (producers) Compass Records (label)
  • For Your Love – Michael Cleveland with Billy Strings and Jeff White (artists) Joe Ely (author) Jeff White, Michael Cleveland, and Sean Sullivan (producer), Compass Records (label)
  • From My Mountain (Contacting You) – Peter Rowan with Molly Tuttle and Lindsay Lou (artists) Peter Rowan (writer) Peter Rowan (producer) Rebel Data (label)

Male Vocalist Of The Yr

  • Greg Blake
  • Del McCoury
  • Danny Paisley
  • Larry Sparks
  • Dan Tyminski

Feminine Vocalist Of The Calendar year

  • Brooke Aldridge
  • Dale Ann Bradley
  • Jaelee Roberts
  • Molly Tuttle
  • Rhonda Vincent

Instrumental Performers Of The Yr


  • Kristin Scott Benson
  • Alison Brown
  • Béla Fleck
  • Ned Luberecki
  • Scott Vestal


  • Mike Bub
  • Todd Phillips
  • Missy Raines
  • Mark Schatz
  • Vickie Vaughn


  • Jason Carter
  • Michael Cleveland
  • Stuart Duncan
  • Bronwyn Keith-Hynes
  • Deanie Richardson

Resophonic Guitar

  • Jerry Douglas
  • Andy Hall
  • Rob Ickes
  • Matt Leadbetter
  • Justin Moses


  • Chris Eldridge
  • Trey Hensley
  • Billy Strings
  • Bryan Sutton
  • Molly Tuttle


  • Alan Bibey
  • Jesse Brock
  • Sam Bush
  • Sierra Hull
  • Ronnie McCoury

Congratulations and most effective of luck to all the 2023 nominees!

Winners will be introduced during the 34th Yearly IBMA Bluegrass Audio Awards, to be held in Raleigh, NC on September 28 at the Martin Marietta Centre for the Doing Arts. Tickets are offered now online.